Thursday, September 02, 2010

Big Ten Divisions Announced

The Big Ten Conference has officially announced the two new divisions for football. The two unnamed divisions are as follows:
Division 1: Illinois,           Indiana,       Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue, Wisconsin
Division 2: Northwestern, Mich. State, Michigan,   Nebraska,   Iowa,    Minnesota

Each team will play the five other teams in their division each season, plus one game against a guaranteed cross-conference opponent that they also will play every year. These matchups are designated vertically in the list above (ex. Indiana vs. Michigan State). The big thing that stands out with this alignment is that Ohio State and Michigan have been split up. While their rivalry will be maintained with the cross-conference matchup, it is no longer guaranteed to be the last game of the season. Wisconsin-Minnesota and Illinois-Northwestern are also being maintained with these matchups, while other rivals are possible because of division matchups.
For Indiana, this means that the Bucket game with Purdue will continue on completely unchanged, and the Hoosiers will continue to square off with the Spartans in the Old Brass Spittoon game.
The Big Ten has also released the conference schedules for 2011 and 2012. The Hoosiers will take on Iowa and Northwestern in addition to MSU and their division opponents.

Unfortunately, it may be a few more years before I can head to Lincoln and watch the Hoosiers take on the Cornhuskers at a much bigger Memorial Stadium...

No comments:

Post a Comment