Sunday, November 22, 2015

Indiana senior LT Jason Spriggs named Outland Trophy semifinalist

Indiana Hoosiers football Jason Spriggs Outland Trophy IUFB IU
Indiana senior left tackle Jason Spriggs was named one of six semifinalists for the Outland Trophy, awarded annually to the nation's top interior lineman. Spriggs, a native of Elkhart, Indiana, has started 45 games in his Indiana career and has allowed just four sacks this 2015 season.

The other finalists, in alphabetical order, are: Spencer Drango (Baylor), Joshua Garnett (Stanford), Ryan Kelly (Alabama), A'Shawn Robinson (Alabama) and Ronnie Stanley (Notre Dame). The list will be shortened to three finalists on November 24, then the winner announced on December 10 during the Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPN.

Indiana has never had an Outland Trophy winner, but past winners include NFL Pro-Bowlers Ndamukong Suh (Nebraska), Joe Thomas (Wisconsin), Orlando Pace (Ohio State) and Hall-of-Famer Bruce Smith (Virginia Tech).

No comments:

Post a Comment