Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Three Hoosiers named to Wooden Award Top 50 list

Indiana senior guard Yogi Ferrell, junior wing Troy Williams and sophomore guard James Blackmon Jr. were all named to the Wooden Award Top 50 list. The Wooden Award is one of two major player of the year awards in college basketball (along with the Naismith Award).

I know it is still November and a watch list doesn't actually mean anything, but it is still exciting to see these guys getting national recognition. Not to mention that this only help recruiting efforts, as Indiana is one of only two schools with three players named to this list (the other being one-and-done/NBA rental factory Kentucky). 

Indiana has had one Wooden Award winner in its history: Calbert Cheaney in 1993. Scott May won the Naismith Award in 1976, a year before the Wooden would make its debut.

The Big Ten leads the nation with ten nominees. Joining the three Hoosiers are Maryland's Jake Layman & Melo Trimble, Michigan's Caris LeVert, Michigan State's Denzel Valentine, Purdue's AJ Hammons and Wisconsin's Nigel Hayes & Bronson Koenig.

Per Rivals' Jeff Rabjohns, the list will be shortened/revised a few times throughout the season, culminating with the Wooden Award All-American team being named Elite Eight week and the Award Winner announced on April 8.  

No comments:

Post a Comment